News - Six Baseball Panthers Earn All-Conference Honors

Six Baseball Panthers Earn All-Conference Honors

Six Baseball Panthers Earn All-Conference Honors

ST. LOUIS, Mo. -- The 2014 SLIAC all-conference team includes six from the Greenville College baseball program.  The Panther entries were headlined by first team catcher Trevor Montgomery.  Nick Bifano, Jared Storment, and Tim Osborne picked up second team honors.  Jared Souhrada was selected as honorable mention, and Mitchell Cernek was chosen for Greenville's spot on the all-sportsmanship team.

Montgomery developed into the conference's top backstop.  He had five home runs and 30 runs batted in during the season and hit at a .388 clip.

Bifano was Greenville's top pitcher.  He had a record of 4-1 and appeared in 28 of Greenville's 44 games.  He accrued 12 saves and set the Panther program record for single-season saves and career saves in his first season as closer.

First baseman Storment hit eight home runs and drove in 34 runs as he was a .298 hitter.

Multi-position outfielder Osborne was Greenville's season leader in hits (61), at bats (162), runs (45), hits (61), triples (5), home runs (12), and RBI (52) as he anchored the third spot in the batting order.

Designated hitter and backup catcher Jared Souhrada posted a season batting average of .307 as he solidified Greenville's DH position during conference play.  He drove in 12 runs and had 27 hits.

Cernek was recognized for his leadership and team-first attitude.  He was Greenville's starting centerfielder or leftfielder for 40 games.  He hit two home runs, drove in 18 runs, scored 39 runs, and stole 24 bases.

Spalding University's Derek Ferch was named the 2014 SLIAC Player of the Year while a trio from Webster University grabbed the remaining individual honors. Isaac Behme was named Pitcher of the Year while CJ Lee was named Newcomer of the Year and Bill Kurich was named Coach of the Year.

Derek Ferch, a senior infielder from Louisville, Ky., is the 2014 SLIAC Player of the Year after finishing in the top five in four batting categories. Ferch finished the regular season ranked third in batting average, hitting .396 on the season, while finishing fourth in total hits and runs batted in tallying 57 hits and 39 RBIs. Derek, a shortstop, also ranked third in the SLIAC in assists with 116, and turned 18 double plays on the year, which ranks fifth in the conference.

Isaac Behme, a junior from Harrisburg, Ill., is the SLIAC Pitcher of the Year. He finished the regular season with a 3.25 earned-run average with 56 strikeouts in 63.2 innings pitched. All seven of his wins came during conference play and were a conference high. Behme ranked 4th in E.R.A. during conference games with a 1.66 mark and held conference batters to just a .172 batting average while recording 49 strikeouts during his seven starts.

CJ Lee, a freshman pitcher from Aurora, Ill., is the 2014 SLIAC Newcomer of the Year after recording all four of his wins during conference play. Lee was 4-1 overall with a 1.90 earned-run average. His 1.50 E.R.A. during conference play was second best while adding 42 strikeouts in 30 innings pitched.

Webster University head coach Bill Kurich picked up SLIAC Coach of the Year honors for the fifth time in his coaching career. Kurich, in his eight year as Gorlok head coach, has guided his team to a #1 ranking this season and went undefeated in conference play with a 26-0 record. The Gorloks secured the top spot in this year's SLIAC Tournament by winning their eight consecutive regular season title.

In addition Eureka College was awarded the conference's Team Sportsmanship award which recognizes the team whose players, coaches and fans best exhibit the principles of good sportsmanship. The SLIAC also recognizes one individual from each team, selected by his coach and teammates, who throughout the season best displays the ideals of sportsmanship. The 2014 All-Sportsmanship Team includes Tyler Gosnell (Blackburn), Bryan Meyer (Eureka), Alex Hill (Fontbonne), Mitchell Cernek (Greenville), Tyler Priem (Iowa Wesleyan), Derek Crouch (MacMurray), Dallen Russell (Principia), Matt West (Spalding), Joe Winckel (Webster), and Ryan Loethen (Westminster).

Player of Year: Derek Ferch, Spalding Univeristy

Pitcher of the Year: Isaac Behme, Webster University

Newcomer of the Year: CJ Lee, Webster University

Coach of the Year: Bill Kurich, Webster University

Sportsmanship Award: Eureka College

SLIAC First Team All-Conference
P Tanner Carter, Fontbonne
P Anthony Willeford, MacMurray
P Isaac Behme, Webster
P CJ Lee, Webster
C Trevor Montgomery, Greenville
INF Derek Ferch, Spalding
INF Matt West, Spalding
INF Taylor Stoulp, Webster
OF Matt Mokriakow, Blackburn
OF Ryan Mosby, Spalding
OF Corey Lasky, Webster
DH Joe Winckel, Webster
UT Deion Hughes, Westminster

SLIAC Second Team All-Conference
P Nick Bifano, Greenville
P Dylan Dean Smith, Webster
C Ian Foege, Webster
INF Aaron Moody, Blackburn
INF Alex Roedner, Fontbonne
INF Jared Storment, Greenville
INF Tim Chambliss, Westminster
OF Cody Litwiller, Eureka
OF Tim Osborne, Greenville
OF Charlie Gandolfi, Webster
DH Donny Fuhrhop, Blackburn
UT Vinnie Birk, Blackburn

SLIAC Honorable Mention
P Jacob Becker, Fontbonne
P Kyle Barbee, Spalding
P Jason Gray, Webster
C JR Belt, Spalding
INF Rob Berger, Fontbonne
INF Korie Vire, Spalding
INF Jeff Kammer, Webster
INF Matt Wollnik, Webster
OF Zach Carel, Fontbonne
OF Ed Bargmann, Principia
OF Andy Pichler, Westminster
DH Jared Souhrada, Greenville
UT Blake Lishka, Eureka

SLIAC All-Sportsmanship Team
Tyler Gosnell, Blackburn
Bryan Meyer, Eureka
Alex Hill, Fontbonne
Mitchell Cernek, Greenville
Tyler Priem, Iowa Wesleyan
Derek Crouch, MacMurray
Dallen Russell, Principia
Matt West, Spalding
Joe Winckel, Webster
Ryan Loethen, Westminster

This story was published on May 10, 2014

comments powered by Disqus
315 E. College Avenue
Greenville, Illinois 62246-1145
800.345.4440 / 618.664.7100
Contact Us © 2000-18 Greenville University. All rights reserved.
Greenville University is authorized to operate as a postsecondary educational institution by the Illinois Board of Higher Education
Accreditation | IBHE Complaint Form